Lagosians To receive N5,000 cash transfers, see details

The government of Lagos has approved the establishment of the State Cash Transfer Unit (SCTU) for the National Cash Transfer Program, The Nation has reported.

The article reported that the news was made public by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu ‘s State Commissioner for Wealth Development and Jobs, Mrs. Yetunde Arobieke, on Thursday in Lagos while recording her ministry ‘s activities over the past year to mark Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu’s first anniversary.

She said 8,147 poor and vulnerable SU cleared beneficiaries are from six local government areas and 40 wards.

She said they’re paying the N5, 000 conditional cash transfer. In the first step the number is per household per month.

The recipients that are cleared are from Amuwo Odofin, Apapa, Badagry, Epe, Ibeju Lekki and Lagos.

He added that the mapping operation to identify all the poor and disadvantaged households in other local government areas is underway, and these households will be protected as soon as the State Project Coordinating Unit allows their data to Ava.

She said the ministry, in partnership with the National Cash Transfer Office, Abuja had organized training on data and biometric capture for cash transfer facilitators from different local government areas in the state to ensure beneficiaries are enrolled.

In addition, Mrs. Arobieke said the government is setting up an industrial hub to improve skills growth and entrepreneurship jobs, adding that it is intended to help the youth get more work opportunities.

She clarified that the industrial hubs would target leather, wood, and fish preservation clusters with the goal of encouraging finished good production.

Besides this, she said the government is preparing a virtual database of robust artisans.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.